News Centre

22 Jan 2019

CUHK Appoints Dean of the Faculty of Law

22 Jan 2019

Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff

The Council of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) has approved the appointment of Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff as Dean of the Faculty of Law upon the incumbent Dean, Professor Christopher Gane, completing his term in September 2019. 

Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff Appointed Dean of the Faculty of Law

Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff is Wei Lun Professor of Law and Dean of the Graduate School at CUHK. He was a founding member of the Faculty of Law, the then School of Law established in 2004. Professor Wolff has served the Faculty of Law as Associate Dean (Graduate Studies) and Head of the Graduate Division of Law (2010 to 2014), Associate Dean (Faculty Development) (2008 to 2010) and Director of the Master of Laws Programmes in International Economic Law, Common Law and Chinese Business Law (2008 to 2011). Professor Wolff holds two PhD degrees in Law (Dr. iur. and Dr. iur. habil.) and has received multiple teaching and research awards such as the University Education Award (2013), Vice-Chancellor’s Exemplary Teaching Awards (2007 & 2011) and Research Excellence Award (2008-09). Professor Wolff has studied, worked and conducted research in mainland China, Taiwan, Germany and the USA. He is admitted to practice in England & Wales and in Germany and is frequently invited to work as consultant for international law firms and multi-national companies on investment projects in the Greater China region. 

Professor Wolff specializes in international and Chinese business law, private international law as well as comparative law. He has published in a wide range of top tier international outlets with pioneering books in various areas, including The Law of Cross-border Business Transactions – Concepts, Principles, Skills, 2nd ed. (2017) and Mergers & Acquisitions in China – Law and Practice, 5th ed. (2015). Professor Wolff is also the editor of China Outbound Investments (2011; Chinese translation 2012) and Legal Dimensions of China’s Belt and Road Initiative (with Xi Chao) (2016). Professor Wolff’s particular interest in innovative legal education is represented by his text on Flipped Classrooms for Legal Education (with Jenny Chan) (2016). 

Professor Wolff remarks, “I feel honoured to be appointed the Dean of the Faculty of Law and I am deeply grateful for the trust put in me. The Faculty of Law has made enormous progress in all aspects since its establishment, thanks to the hard work of all colleagues and the leadership of my predecessors. I look forward to working with all members of the Faculty to advance teaching and research to an even higher level, and to continue the Faculty’s mission to nurture the next generation of legal professionals for Hong Kong, mainland China, and the global community.” 

CUHK is grateful to Professor Christopher Gane for his contributions to the Faculty of Law over the years. The Faculty of Law is a young faculty with just a decade of establishment. Under Professor Gane’s stewardship, the Faculty has made remarkable progress and achievements in teaching and research – making it one of the leading and most international law schools in the region. After completing his term of office as Dean of the Faculty of Law, Professor Gane will retire from the University to pursue his interests in music, photography, and the history of Scots criminal law. 

In accordance with the guidelines and procedures for the search and appointment of faculty deans, the University formed a search committee to launch a worldwide search for the next Dean of the Faculty of Law. Having thoroughly considered 70 nominations/applications received, the Search Committee finally recommended Professor Wolff for the position. Pursuant to the appointment procedures, Professor Wolff has met with teachers and students of the Faculty of Law to exchange views on the future development of the Faculty. The Council subsequently approved his appointment as Dean of the Faculty of Law on 22 January 2019. Professor Wolff will serve for a term of five years.

Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff

Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff


Download all photos