Achievements

Can people with diabetes be vaccinated?

Share
Print

Professor Juliana Chan (left), Chair Professor of Medicine and Therapeutics at CUHK Medicine and Dr. Andrea Luk (right), Associate Professor, Division of Endocrinology and Diabetes, Department of Medicine and Therapeutics at CUHK Medicine

In Hong Kong, diabetes is a major chronic disease affecting 700,000 people, i.e. 1 in 10 people have diabetes. According to the International Diabetes Federation, the number of people with diabetes in Hong Kong will surge to 920,000 (or 13% of the population) by 2030. Can people with diabetes be vaccinated?

Professor Juliana Chan, Chair Professor of Medicine and Therapeutics and Founding Director of the Hong Kong Institute of Diabetes and Obesity at CUHK and Dr. Andrea Luk, Associate Professor, Division of Endocrinology and Diabetes, Department of Medicine and Therapeutics at CUHK Medicine provide six key points for us.

  1. People with diabetes are at high risk for developing severe COVID-19 related complications including death.
  2. Unless they had severe allergic reactions or nerve damage to vaccines in the past, all people with type 1 or type 2 diabetes should consider being vaccinated to protect themselves.
  3. All approved vaccines have been evaluated under closely monitored condition with comparison against placebo with no evidence of these vaccines increasing the risk of common diseases such as heart disease or stroke.
  4. Experts recommend patients with diabetes to receive annual flu jabs to reduce risk of severe pneumonia. If they have been following this, then there is no reason why they should not take COVID-19 vaccines.
  5. COVID-19 vaccines by Sinovac use the same technology as traditional flu vaccines. People who have taken flu vaccines before with no major side effects may consider choosing this. On the other hand, BioNTech vaccines have a wealth of data showing its safety and effectiveness in people in different ages and clinical conditions.
  6. The key question is to get vaccinated but not which type of vaccines. We hope everyone will act now and get vaccinated to save lives and protect our healthcare system.

🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

Q: Are people with diabetes more likely to get COVID-19 infection?

A: In July last year, the School of Biomedicine at CUHK Medicine published a report showing that diabetes may increase the risk of getting COVID-19 infection. People with diabetes have increased expression of the ACE2 receptor (also known as “angiotensin converting enzyme”), which is a key receptor for the Coronavirus to invade the human body. The higher the expression of this receptor, the higher the chance of infection, and the more severe the patient’s condition can become after infection.1

🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

Q: If a patient with diabetes has COVID-19, is he/she more likely to develop serious complications or die? 

A: Patients with diabetes and COVID-19 have 2-3 fold higher risk of developing serious complications including admission to intensive care unit, assisted ventilation and/or death than those without diabetes. Other factors for serious or deadly COVID-19 include old age, male sex and obesity. These high-risk groups should be vaccinated to avoid getting severe COVID-19.

In people with poorly controlled diabetes, their internal organs are exposed to a high-sugar environment for a long period of time. This unfavorable condition can reduce their immunity to ward off infections by bacteria and virus and accelerate the aging process by as much as 10 years than their peers without diabetes. As with most infections, the body needs more energy to fight against the Coronavirus. In people with diabetes, this can further increase the blood glucose level and make them more prone to develop other infections with further damage to their blood vessels, heart and kidneys.

According to a recent report by the University Hospital Nantes in France2, 1 in 5 hospitalized patients with diabetes and COVID-19 died within 28 days of admission. In a nationwide study conducted in the United Kingdom, amongst those who died from COVID-19, 1 in 3 had diabetes. People with diabetes and unstable glycemic control or underlying cardiovascular and kidney disease were also more prone to develop serious complications due to COVID-193.

In fact, a recent report published by the CUHK Diabetes Research Team4 showed that people with diabetes were more likely to be hospitalized due to influenza and pneumonia. More importantly, people have 2 to 4 times increased risk of developing a heart attack or stroke after being hospitalization due to pneumonia5. This is exactly the reason why experts strongly recommend patients with diabetes receive pneumonia and influenza vaccination to reduce the risk of serious complications.

🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

Q: Can people with diabetes get the COVID-19 vaccines? Which vaccine should they choose?

A: Most countries such as UK and USA consider patients with diabetes as a priority group to receive vaccines in order to reduce their chances of developing severe COVID-19. All people with type 1 or type 2 diabetes should consider being vaccinated, unless they had a history of vaccine-related severe allergic reactions or nerve damage or other medical conditions that make it unsafe for them to receive vaccination. Please visit the website of the Hong Kong Department of Health for more details. (https://www.covidvaccine.gov.hk/en/faq)

Experts recommend patients with diabetes to receive annual flu jabs to reduce risk of severe pneumonia. If they have been following this, then there is no reason why they should not take COVID-19 vaccines. Based on clinical trials and real-world evidence, both BioNtech and Sinovac vaccines have been proven to be safe and effective and approved by the World Health Organization. Globally, over 2 billion people, including patients with diabetes and chronic diseases, have been vaccinated and the rate of severe COVID 19 infections have fallen markedly in countries with high vaccination rates of 60-70%, such as Israel, UK and USA.

Traditional flu vaccines use the same technology as vaccine produced by Sinovac i.e. inactivated vaccines. People who have received flu vaccines in the past with no allergic reactions may consider using vaccines produced by Sinovac. On the other hand, there is a wealth of published data relating to vaccine produced by BioNtech which covered many age groups and clinical conditions with proven efficacy and safety. The key question is to get vaccinated but not which type of vaccines.

By 16 June 2021, the total number of COVID-19 vaccination doses administered in Hong Kong approached 3,041,700. The Department of Health had received about 3,000 reports of abnormal events, i.e. 0.14% or 1 in 1000 people who received vaccination. Most of these events were not serious. For serious events such as stroke and heart disease, after review by experts, they were not considered to be caused by the vaccines. 

It is important to point out that in the assessment of a causal relationship between a drug or vaccine and serious events, apart from the timing, we have to consider 1) whether there are other pre-existing conditions that may explain these adverse events and 2) whether there are mechanisms that can associate the vaccines with the adverse events. The safety and efficacy of these vaccines approved by the World Health Organization have been closely monitored and compared with placebo in clinical trials with no evidence of increased incidence of common diseases such as heart disease or stroke. Only by having more people vaccinated can we soon reach herd immunity so that our society can return to normality.

🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

Q: Do you have any suggestion for diabetic patients during the pandemic?

A: People with diabetes should work closely with their care team to control their blood glucose, blood pressure, blood cholesterol and body weight through regular follow up visits and self-monitoring. Many of those patients need to take medications to protect their blood vessels and kidneys and they should follow medical advice. Before the pandemic settles and herd immunity is achieved, they should stay vigilant, continue to wear masks in public places, keep social distancing and maintain personal hygiene. Finally, whether people have diabetes or not, we should avoid being overweight or obese, take healthy diets (3 low 1 high), quit smoking, keep active, sleep well and be positive. 

 

1 CUHK Researchers Uncover Diabetes as a Potential Risk Factor for COVID-19, and Possible Mechanisms

https://www.cpr.cuhk.edu.hk/en/press/cuhk-researchers-uncover-diabetes-as-a-potential-risk-factor-for-covid-19-and-possible-mechanisms/

2 COVID Deaths High When Hospitalized With Diabetes (paragraph 1, 5, 6)

https://www.webmd.com/lung/news/20210218/covid-deaths-high-when-hospitalized-with-diabetes#1

3 Associations of type 1 and type 2 diabetes with COVID-19-related mortality in England: a whole-population study

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32798472/

4 Temporal trends in rates of infection-related hospitalisations in Hong Kong people with and without diabetes, 2001–2016: a retrospective study

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s00125-020-05286-2

5 Association Between Hospitalization for Pneumonia and Subsequent Risk of Cardiovascular Disease

https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/2091304 



Professor Juliana Chan (left), Chair Professor of Medicine and Therapeutics at CUHK Medicine and Dr. Andrea Luk (right), Associate Professor, Division of Endocrinology and Diabetes, Department of Medicine and Therapeutics at CUHK Medicine

Professor Juliana Chan (left), Chair Professor of Medicine and Therapeutics at CUHK Medicine and Dr. Andrea Luk (right), Associate Professor, Division of Endocrinology and Diabetes, Department of Medicine and Therapeutics at CUHK Medicine

 

Download all photos

中大成就

糖尿病人可否打疫苗?

分享
列印

中大醫學院內科及藥物治療學系講座教授陳重娥教授(左)和內科及藥物治療學系內分泌及糖尿科副教授陸安欣醫生(右)

糖尿病是本港主要的慢性疾病之一。現時全港約有70萬人患糖尿病,即每10個人當中,便有一人是糖尿病患者。據國際糖尿病聯盟估計,到了2030年,香港的糖尿病人數將激增至92萬人 (即13%人口)。那麼糖尿病人可否接種新冠疫苗?

中大醫學院內科及藥物治療學系講座教授,兼香港糖尿病及肥胖症研究創所主任陳重娥教授和內科及藥物治療學系內分泌及糖尿科副教授陸安欣醫生提出了六大重點,供大家參考。

  1. 糖尿病患者是患上新冠肺炎後出現嚴重併發症、甚至死亡的高風險人群。
  2. 除非他們過去對疫苗有嚴重的過敏反應或神經損傷,否則所有1型或2型糖尿病患者應考慮接種疫苗,以保護自己。
  3. 所有獲批准的疫苗已在嚴密監控的條件及與安慰劑比較下通過評估,沒有證據顯示這些疫苗會增加常見疾病,如心臟病或中風的風險。
  4. 專家建議糖尿病患者每年接受流感疫苗注射,以減少患上嚴重肺炎的風險。若他們一直跟從建議,那麼他們絕對有理由接種新冠疫苗。
  5. 科興疫苗使用的技術與傳統流感疫苗相同。曾接種流感疫苗且無出現重大副作用人士可以考慮接種。至於復必泰疫苗,已有大量資料反映它在不同年齡和臨床情況下,是安全和有效。
  6. 現時最關鍵的問題是接種疫苗,而非接種哪種疫苗,希望大家現在就行動,接種疫苗以拯救生命,保護我們的醫療系統。

🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

問:糖尿病患者會否較容易感染新冠肺炎?

答:中大醫學院生物醫學學院去年7月發表的研究結果顯示,糖尿病有機會是感染新冠肺炎的高危因素。糖尿病患者的ACE2受體(又稱「血管緊張素轉換酶」)表達程度偏高。ACE2是新冠肺炎病毒入侵人體的關鍵受體,這受體的表達程度愈高,感染機會愈高,亦會令患者感染後病情變得較為嚴重。1

🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

問:一旦糖尿病患者感染新冠肺炎,出現嚴重併發症或死亡率會否較其他人高?

答:感染新冠肺炎的糖尿病患者出現嚴重併發症、進入深切治療部、使用呼吸機或死亡的風險,比沒有糖尿病的人多約2至3倍。導致嚴重或致命新冠肺炎的其他因素包括年齡大、男性和肥胖。這些高危人群應接種疫苗,以避免感染嚴重新冠肺炎。

糖尿病患者,如果病情沒有控制,器官長期處於高糖環境下,機能較沒有糖尿病的同齡人衰老多達10年,免疫力亦較低。與大多數感染一樣,身體需要更多能量來對抗新冠肺炎病毒。對於糖尿病患者來說,這可能會進一步提高血糖水平,使他們更容易發生其他感染,對心臟、血管和腎臟造成進一步損害。

根據法國南特大學附屬中心醫院最新的研究2指出,每5名患糖尿病並感染新冠肺炎的住院病人中,1人會在住院28天內死亡。英國的一項全國性調查指出,每3名新冠肺炎死者中,便有1人是糖尿病患者。此外,血糖指數不穩定,或有潛在心血管疾病和腎病的糖尿病患者,也較容易出現嚴重併發症3

事實上,香港中大糖尿病研究小組最近發表的報告4顯示,糖尿病人較容易因感染流感和肺炎需要住院。重要的是,在肺炎後的時期,心臟病發或中風的機率更高出2至4倍5這就是為什麼專家強烈建議糖尿病患者接種肺炎和流感疫苗,以減少嚴重併發症的風險

🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

問:糖尿病人可否接種新冠疫苗? 應選擇哪種疫苗?

答:大多數國家,如英國和美國,將糖尿病患者作為優先接受疫苗的群體,以減少他們患嚴重新冠肺炎的機會。因此,所有1型或2型糖尿病患者都應該考慮接種疫苗,除非他們有疫苗相關的嚴重過敏反應或神經損傷的病史,或其他醫療條件使他們不能安全地接受疫苗接種。請瀏覽香港衛生署的網站了解更多詳情(https://www.covidvaccine.gov.hk/zh-HK/faq)。

專家建議糖尿病患者每年接受流感疫苗注射,以減少患上嚴重肺炎的風險。若病人一直跟從建議,那麼他們絕對有理由接受新冠疫苗基於臨床試驗和真實數據,BioNtech「復必泰」和Sinovac「科興 」藥廠的疫苗都被證明是安全和有效的,並得到世界衛生組織的批准。全球超過20億人,包括糖尿病和慢性病患者已經接種了疫苗,在以色列、英國和美國等疫苗接種率高達60-70%的國家,嚴重新冠肺炎的感染率已經明顯下降。

傳統的流感疫苗與Sinovac「科興 」藥廠生產的疫苗使用相同的技術,即滅活疫苗。曾接種流感疫苗而沒有過敏反應的人可以考慮使用 Sinovac。另一方面, BioNtech「復必泰」藥廠生產的疫苗,有大量科學數據,涵蓋許多年齡組和臨床情況,證明其效力和安全性。關鍵問題是接種疫苗,而不是接種哪種疫苗。

截至2021年6月16日,香港的新冠疫苗接種總劑量為約3,041,700劑,香港衛生署接獲的異常事件報告約3,000宗,佔疫苗接種總劑量的 0.14%(即千分之一)。大多數的事件並不嚴重。而對於呈報的嚴重事件(如中風和心臟病)經專家審核後,認為沒有因果關係。

我們必須指出,在評估任何藥物或疫苗與嚴重事件之間的因果關係時,除了時間上的關係外,更需要考慮 1) 可能導致這些不良事件的其他預先存在的條件,2) 可以解釋疫苗和不良事件之間關係的可能機制。這些獲世界衛生組織認可及批准使用的疫苗,臨床試驗下進行了監測以及與安慰劑比較,沒有證據表明接種疫苗後,心血管事件等常見疾病發生率增加。只有愈多人接種疫苗,才可愈快達至群體免疫,以使社會能夠重新運作。

🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

問:疫情期間,你對糖尿病人有甚麼建議?

答:糖尿病患者應與他們的護理團隊緊密合作,通過定期隨訪和自我監測來控制他們的血糖、血壓、血膽固醇和體重。許多病人需要服用藥物保護血管和腎臟,他們應該堅持服用這些藥物。在大流行病平息和群體免疫實現之前,他們應該保持警惕,在公共場所繼續戴口罩,保持社交距離,注意個人衛生。最後,無論是否患有糖尿病,我們都應該避免超重或肥胖,遵循健康飲食習慣(三低一高)、戒煙、保持活躍、有良好的睡眠習慣,和保持樂觀的態度。

 

註1: 中大發現糖尿病或為感染新冠肺炎高危因素 研究有助了解病毒致病潛在機制

https://www.cpr.cuhk.edu.hk/tc/press/cuhk-researchers-uncover-diabetes-as-a-potential-risk-factor-for-covid-19-and-possible-mechanisms/

註2: COVID Deaths High When Hospitalized With Diabetes (1、5、6段)

https://www.webmd.com/lung/news/20210218/covid-deaths-high-when-hospitalized-with-diabetes#1

註3: Associations of type 1 and type 2 diabetes with COVID-19-related mortality in England: a whole-population study

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32798472/

註4: Temporal trends in rates of infection-related hospitalisations in Hong Kong people with and without diabetes, 2001–2016: a retrospective study

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s00125-020-05286-2

註5: Association Between Hospitalization for Pneumonia and Subsequent Risk of Cardiovascular Disease

https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/2091304



中大醫學院內科及藥物治療學系講座教授陳重娥教授(左)和內科及藥物治療學系內分泌及糖尿科副教授陸安欣醫生(右)

中大醫學院內科及藥物治療學系講座教授陳重娥教授(左)和內科及藥物治療學系內分泌及糖尿科副教授陸安欣醫生(右)

 

下載所有相片