Achievements

Could the social distancing measures be relaxed after vaccination?

Share
Print

Professor Wong Yeung Shan, Samuel, the Director of The Jockey Club School of Public Health and Primary Care from CUHK

The pandemic has been continuing and emergence of virus variants make people panic. The most concerning issue will be the long-term efficacy of COVID-19 vaccines. Can we resume ordinary life after getting vaccinated? Let Professor Wong Yeung Shan, Samuel, the Director of The Jockey Club School of Public Health and Primary Care from the Chinese University of Hong Kong explain this issue.

🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺

Q: Can social distancing measures be relaxed after vaccination?

A: Vaccination is an effective way to control the pandemic in the long term.

As of 1 June, over 60% of people in Israel and nearly 60% of people in the United Kingdom (UK) have already taken the vaccines. UK has also announced a “Green List” of countries, travelers returning from these countries no longer have to be quarantined upon arrival. 

There is also more and more evidence supporting the efficacy of the vaccines. According to the latest scientific data, the protection rate given by the Comirnaty vaccine to people aged 16 and above is over 90%, including both infections with and without symptoms. The vaccine could even block the transmission chain among household members. Inferring from that, vaccination should be effective in reducing the infection risk in catering locations and other environments. 

It is observed locally and overseas that once the disease prevention measures are relaxed, the number of cases might rebound. From a scientific perspective, the risk of relaxing prevention measures is lower if citizens have received vaccination. Yet, successful implementation of relaxed measures, for instance in food premises, depends on the size of restaurant, the level of interaction between customers and staff across different zones in the restaurant, as well as the acceptance of the measures by citizens.

Nevertheless, the degree of relaxation depends on the proportion of the population vaccinated. Despite the high protection efficacy of the vaccines, they are not a 100% prevention measure. Still, we have to wear masks and be aware of social distancing until herd immunity is reached.  

🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺

Q: How is the response of citizens towards getting vaccinated? How far is Hong Kong from herd immunity and normal life? 

A: As of June 1, the vaccination rate in Hong Kong was just over 20%. According to the latest study conducted by CU Medicine, there is “vaccine hesitancy” in Hong Kong. During the most serious period of the third wave of outbreak last year, there were only 48% of people willing to take the vaccination. The percentage dropped to less than 40% by the end of the third wave. It further fell to 30% at the fourth wave. Only 8% of respondents answered they would “absolutely take the vaccines” during the fourth wave.

Taking reference from previous waves of the outbreak, the local immediate transmission rate has ranged from two to four; that means each patient can infect two to four people. Therefore, if Hong Kong wants to gain herd immunity, the vaccination rate must reach 50% to 75% of the population.

Due to vaccine hesitancy, we predict that herd immunity will not be reached within a short period of time in Hong Kong. Hence, social distancing measures need to be retained for a certain or even a long period of time.

🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺

Q: The coronavirus variants are spreading within the community. Does it affect the efficacy of the vaccines? Is it necessary to tighten the social distancing measures?

A: The virus variants found in the community have a higher transmission rate. We currently do not know their impact on the local immediate transmission rate. If each patient can infect more people, a higher vaccination rate is needed for the control of transmission.

Judging from the current vaccination rate and the public response, it is possible that we will be facing another wave of outbreak on an even larger scale than before in Hong Kong, hence we must be more cautious.

As for social distancing and infection control measures, a study from CU Medicine shows that Hong Kong citizens have a high awareness of wearing masks and maintaining hand hygiene. More than 95% of respondents have been practicing these since the start of the pandemic. However, the public’s attitude towards the infection has changed with time. More and more people do not regard the infection as a serious matter, and many of them are tired of fighting against the coronavirus making them less motivated in following the regulations. 

🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺

Q: Some people may worry that their health condition making them not suitable for vaccination. Which group of people should seek a doctor’s advice before receiving vaccination?

A: It is understandable that the public are concerned about the safety of the vaccines, especially since the COVID-19 vaccines have taken only a short time from development to emergency use. Yet hundreds of millions of doses have been given worldwide and data shows that the majority are suitable for the vaccination. People with a history of allergies may need to undergo an allergy test to assess their suitability for vaccination, including those who have had anaphylaxis or severe allergic reactions upon exposure to other allergens, or those who are allergic to more than one type of drug.

Currently, the Department of Health recommends that patients who have acute diseases and are receiving treatment or who have just changed medicine may have to postpone the vaccination schedule after assessment by a doctor. As for people with stable control of chronic diseases, they can get vaccinated.

Some patients with chronic diseases might develop different responses towards the vaccines. They should seek medical advice first. Immunocompromised patients, including organ transplant recipients and cancer patients should get vaccinated at least two to four weeks before receiving the surgery or chemotherapy. If patients are receiving immunocompromised treatments, they are advised to get vaccinated half a year after the completion of treatment. People taking an anticoagulant can also receive the vaccination. They should put pressure on the injection spot for at least five minutes to reduce bleeding and bruises.

If the above-mentioned people work in  designated premises like restaurants and  have to get vaccinated for a re-opening or relaxation of social distancing measures within the premises, they might need to discuss with doctors their suitability for vaccination and possible exemption. 



Professor Wong Yeung Shan, Samuel, the Director of The Jockey Club School of Public Health and Primary Care from CUHK

Professor Wong Yeung Shan, Samuel, the Director of The Jockey Club School of Public Health and Primary Care from CUHK

 

Download all photos

中大成就

接种後,社交距离措施可放宽?

分享
列印

中大醫學院賽馬會公共衞生及基層醫療學院院長黃仰山教授

新冠疫情持續,接二連三出現變種病毒令大家人心惶惶,最關注的一點莫過於疫苗能否保持有效;接種疫苗後,大家又能否回到從前的正常生活?就讓中文大學醫學院賽馬會公共衞生及基層醫療學院院長黃仰山教授來解說。

🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺

問:市民接種疫苗後社交距離措施可放寬嗎? 

答:接種疫苗是可行而持久控制疫情的方法。

截至6月1日,以色列有超過6成人接種,而英國則接近6成。其中英國已制訂「綠色名單」,國民到這些地方旅遊後,回國時毋須隔離檢疫。

疫苗有效性得到愈來愈多支持。最新刊登的數據顯示,復必泰疫苗對16歲以上,不論有病徵或無病徵感染,保護率均達九成以上,甚至可防止病毒於同住家人之間傳播。由此推斷,即使在食肆等其他環境,接種疫苗都可減少傳播風險。

從本地和外國情況看到,一旦防疫措施鬆綁,疫情有機會反彈。科學上看,若市民已接種疫苗,放寬社交距離措施的風險會較低。但放寬後的措施能否有效推行,例如有關食肆的措施,就要視乎食肆大小、不同區域的食客和員工有否交流、市民是否接受等因素。

然而,可放寬至甚麼程度,同時取決於接種疫苗的人口比例。雖然疫苗有效率已很高,但由於並非百分百預防感染,我們仍要配戴口罩及做好社交距離,直至達到群體免疫。

🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺

問:坊間對接種疫苗的反應如何?香港距離群體免疫及回復正常生活有多遠?

答:截至6月1日,香港接種率僅兩成。據中大醫學院最新研究顯示,香港出現「疫苗猶豫」情況,即使在去年第三波疫情最嚴重時,有意接種疫苗的人都只有48%;到第三波後期更跌至不足四成;第四波期間進一步跌至三成。回答「絕對會」接種疫苗的人在第四波期間更只有8%。

根據早前幾波疫情,本地即時傳播率為2至4左右,即每名患者可傳染2至4人。以此計算,香港要達到群體免疫,接種率要達到人口的50%至75%。

由於出現疫苗猶豫的情況,我們預計本港未必能在短期內達到群體免疫,因此社交距離措施仍要維持一段中至長的時間。

🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺

問:變種病毒株在本地社區傳播,如何影響疫苗接種計劃成效?有沒有需要收緊社交距離?

答:早前流入社區的變種病毒株,傳播率較高,我們目前未知對本地即時傳播率影響有多大,若每名患者可傳染更多人,就需要更高接種率才能控制傳播。

以目前接種率和市民反應來看,香港仍有機會面對新一波疫情,而且規模有機會較前四波更嚴重,必須小心處理。

至於社交距離及防疫措施,中大醫學院研究顯示市民配戴口罩和保持手部衞生的意識一直頗高,疫情至今維持95%以上的人執行。但隨着疫情時間推進,市民對感染的態度有變,更多人認為感染不是嚴重的事,亦有不少人出現抗疫疲勞,可能因而減低他們遵守防疫規定的意欲。

🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺🩺

問:有些市民擔心自己不適合接種疫苗,你會提醒甚麼類別人士於接種前尋求醫生意見?

答:市民擔心疫苗的安全性是可以理解,尤其新冠疫苗研發至緊急使用只經歷很短時間。然而,新冠疫苗在全球各地已接種數以億計劑量,至今數據顯示大多數人均適合接種。部分有過敏病史的市民,可能需先接受過敏測試,以評估是否適合接種,包括曾接觸其他致敏原後出現過敏性休克或嚴重過敏反應的人,或者對多於一類藥物敏感人士。

香港衞生署目前建議,經醫生評估後,部分人或需暫緩接種,包括急性疾病正接受治療,或剛剛轉藥人士,而慢性病控制穩定的人,都可接種新冠疫苗。

部分長期病患者對疫苗反應可能不同,建議先求醫。其中免疫功能不足人士,包括接受器官移植、癌症化療病人等,一般於接受移植手術或化療前,需預留最少兩至四周接種;若病人正接受免疫抑制治療,建議完成治療後半年才接種。服用薄血藥病人都可接種疫苗,並於接種後持續按壓注射位置最少五分鐘,以減少出血或瘀傷。

這些人士若在食肆等指定處所工作,需要接種疫苗以換取處所重開或放寬處所內的社交距離措施,他們或需求醫作詳細評估,以判斷能否接種疫苗或得到豁免。



中大醫學院賽馬會公共衞生及基層醫療學院院長黃仰山教授

中大醫學院賽馬會公共衞生及基層醫療學院院長黃仰山教授

 

下载所有相片