28 November 2020
2 April 2019
Six CUHK Students Awarded the Innovation and Technology Scholarship

Six outstanding students of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK)’s Faculties of Medicine, Science and Engineering have been awarded the Innovation and Technology Scholarship 2019. Each awardee will receive up to HK$150,000 for participating in a series of initiatives to widen their international exposure and develop their passion and commitment toward science and technology.

Yeung Chun Yat, Year 2 student in Physics (Enrichment Stream in Theoretical Physics; Science, Technology and Research), is very grateful to receive this prestigious scholarship which has encouraged his pursuit of physics. “I have planned to engage in computational physics and cosmology research at the University of California, Berkeley, in an attempt to understand the formation of galaxies and dark matters,” Yeung said. He wants to promote the joy of learning science and physics for STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) education in Hong Kong. He recalls that he was faced with opposition when he decided on physics as his first choice of major. “This discouragement was not unexpected, from my parents, friends and teachers. I once doubted if I had made the right decision, as innovation and technology in Hong Kong are comparatively less well-developed. This scholarship encourages my pursuit and I am confident that my passion and potential will be realised with the overseas research experience.”

Another scholarship recipient is Wong Chung Hei, Year 3 student in MBChB (Global Physician-Leadership Stream). He is going to pursue groundbreaking innovation in the field of neuroprosthetics at John Hopkins University. He said, “I have been a dedicated fencer since primary school. The rigorous training has caused recurrent injuries. One day, while I was waiting for a follow-up at the prosthetic clinic, I saw an amputated patient stumbling along the corridor. The prescribed prosthetic limb was merely a clumsy plastic model fixed with nails and screws. This encounter ignited my interest in the field of neuroprosthetics.” He continued, “The latest e-dermis announced by John Hopkins University has allowed amputees to control a dexterous human-like arm at  will.  It is also the first time ever that amputees can finally feel temperature and touch with the robotic arm. I am looking forward to the day when amputation will no longer be a permanent disability; the day when innovation and technology allow someone who has lost their arms to once again hug and feel the warmth of loved ones.”

Leung Ho Man, Year 3 student in Electronic Engineering, is thankful for being one of the scholarship recipients. His success in building a mini solar car in his secondary school study made him go for electronic engineering. “I am grateful that the scholarship offers awardees with invaluable opportunities to be mentored by industry experts and professionals and to work in innovative enterprises to gain rewarding work experience,” he said. 

Other awardees include Cheung Cheuk Sin Bernice and Lam Li Man Maggie, both Year 3 students in MBChB (Global Physician-Leadership Stream); and Chiu Kwan Ho Nicholas, Year 4 student in the same programme. 

About the Innovation and Technology Scholarship

The Innovation and Technology Scholarship, organised by The Hong Kong Federation of Youth Groups with the joint sponsorship and support of the Innovation and Technology Commission and The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited, aims to provide recognition to outstanding undergraduates in science, engineering and medicine related fields. Nominated by the university and then selected by the Awardee Selection Committee with members from different sectors, 25 awardees each year receive up to HK$150,000 each to participate in a series of initiatives, including overseas/Mainland attachment, mentorship, a service project and a local internship programme. It aims to widen the talented young students’ international exposure, give them industry experience, and raise their passion and commitment toward science and technology.

Professor Rocky S. Tuan (centre), Vice-chancellor and president of CUHK, together with CUHK teachers, congratulate the six students on being awarded the Innovation and Technology Scholarship.

Yeung Chun Yat

Wong Chung Hei

Leung Ho Man